ENRICHING LIVES

Yoga and Sport With Refugees (YSR) est né en octobre 2017 sur l’île de Lesbos, en Grèce, en réponse au besoin massif d’espaces sûrs et sains, au sentiment de communauté et à un lieu pour travailler sur la santé mentale et physique. En septembre 2020, nous nous sommes étendus à Athènes. Grâce à la coopération avec Habibi Works et le Centre d’études postcoloniales KOIZ, nous avons lancé Habibi et Sport avec les réfugié.e.s à Ioannina en 2021. Chaque jour, nous proposons plus de 20 activités sportives différentes à environ 400 personnes. Notre modèle est unique puisque plus de 70 de nos coachs passé.e.s et actuel.le.s sont eux et elles-mêmes réfugié.e.s.

La crise des réfugiés a commencé en 2015. Dans un premier temps, l’Europe a ouvert ses frontières à des milliers de personnes fuyant la Syrie, l’Afghanistan et les pays d’Afrique. Puis, les frontières se sont fermées et des milliers de personnes ont été abandonnées et isolées dans le sud de l’Europe.

Grâce au sport, nous rapprochons les gens et favorisons l’espoir. Le sport peut briser les barrières ethniques et religieuses, créant ainsi un espace de rencontre sûr pour la coopération entre les cultures, où chacun.e participe et devient une famille. Nous travaillons ensemble pour développer les compétences des personnes en promouvant un environnement propice à l’apprentissage continu dans toute notre organisation. Nos équipes sont intentionnellement diversifiées – composées de bénévoles issus de la communauté internationale, grecque et réfugiée – afin que nous puissions apprendre les un.e.s des autres et devenir véritablement #STRONGERTOGETHER.

 

0
Volontaires du monde entier
0
Sports proposés
0.000
Athlètes accompagnés
0
Locations

NOS VALEURS

WILL YOU CHANGE A LIFE TODAY?

As long as poverty, injustice & inequality persist, not one of us can truly rest. It doesn’t take much to change a life. Get in touch today and start making a difference.

VOLUNTEER
DONATE NOW

Yoga et Sport avec les Réfugiés est ouvert à toutes celles et tous ceux qui veulent faire du sport et trouver un sentiment d’appartenance. Nous accueillons des personnes de toutes nationalités, ethnies, religions et cultures. A YSR, des personnes diverses trouvent un terrain d’entente à travers le yoga, le sport et les relations personnelles. Notre communauté et nos programmes intègrent et mélangent le meilleur de ce que chaque participant.e a à offrir avec les talents des autres individus.

-Estelle Jean, fondatrice et MD

WILL YOU CHANGE A LIFE TODAY?

As long as poverty, injustice & inequality persist, not one of us can truly rest. It doesn’t take much to change a life. Get in touch today and start making a difference.

VOLUNTEER
DONATE NOW

ENRICHING LIVES

Yoga and Sport With Refugees (YSR) was born in October 2017 on the island of Lesvos, Greece, in response to the massive need for healthy safe spaces, the sense of community and a place to work on mental and physical health. In September 2020, we expanded to Athens. Through cooperation with Habibi Works and KOIZ Centre for Postcolonial Studies, we started Habibi and Sport with Refugees in Ioannina in 2021. Every day we offer more than 20 different sports activities to approximately 400 people. Our model is unique with over 70 of our past and current coaches coming from a refugee background.

The refugee crisis began in 2015. Initially Europe opened its borders to thousands fleeing Syria, Afghanistan and countries in Africa. Then, the borders closed and thousands of people were abandoned and isolated in southern Europe.

Through sport, we bring people together and foster hope. Sports can break ethnic and religious barriers, thus creating a safe meeting space for cooperation between cultures where everyone participates and becomes a family. We work together to build people’s skills by promoting an environment conducive to continuous learning throughout our organization. Our teams are intentionally diverse – comprised of volunteers from the international, Greek, and refugee community alike – so that we can learn from each other and become truly #STRONGERTOGETHER.

0
Volunteers worldwide
0
Sports offered
0.000
Athletes reached
0
Locations

OUR PILLARS

Yoga and Sport with Refugees is open to everyone who wants to do sport and find a sense of belonging. We welcome people from all nationalities, ethnicities, religions and cultures. At YSR, diverse people find common ground through yoga, sport and personal relationships. Our community and programs integrate and blend the best that each participant has to offer with the talents of other individuals.

-Estelle Jean, Founder and MD

WILL YOU CHANGE A LIFE TODAY?

As long as poverty, injustice & inequality persist, not one of us can truly rest. It doesn’t take much to change a life. Get in touch today and start making a difference.

VOLUNTEER
DONATE NOW